What is the national language of India?

India, a land of incredible cultural and linguistic diversity, does not have a single national language. Hindi, though spoken by a vast portion of the population, is not designated as the national language. Instead, the Constitution of India recognizes Hindi in Devanagari script as the official language of the Union government, with English holding equal status for official purposes. This ensures that the central government can function effectively in multiple languages, catering to the diverse linguistic needs of the country.

However, this doesn't overshadow the significance of India's many other languages. The Eighth Schedule of the Indian Constitution acknowledges this rich tapestry of languages by listing 22 recognized languages. These languages represent various regions and cultures across India, showcasing the country's linguistic heritage.

You may like: Why Computer Games are addictive?

Next Post Previous Post
No Comment
Add Comment
comment url