Classification of government

Classification of government

Since the emergence of the concept of government, different philosophers have divided governments in different ways. Classification of modern governments is given below:

Based on the principles of the distribution of power

a) Unitary government

b) Federal government

Based on the relationships between the legislature and the executive

a) Parliamentary form of government

b) Presidential form of government

Classification based on the principle of the distribution of power

Based on the distribution of power principle, governments can be classified into two types: Unitary government and Federal government.

Unitary government: The system of governance in which all powers are vested in the hands of the central government and governance is run from the centre is called a unitary government. In this system, power is not distributed between the centre and the province. The state consists of provincial or administrative regions. In this type of government, the regional government has no separate entity. But they act as agents or facilitators of the centre. Bangladesh, Japan, and the UK are examples of the unitary government.

Federal government: The federal government consist of more than one region or province. This type of government is based on the principle of the distribution of power. In this form of government, apart of state power and authority, according to the constitution is vested in the hands of the provincial government and the national matters are vested in the hands of the central government. The provincial and central governments thus possess fundamental powers. Both run the governments separately and independently. In other words, there exists a dual form of government. India, the USA, and Canada are examples of federal forms of government.

You may like

Next Post Previous Post
No Comment
Add Comment
comment url