What president refused to declare thanksgiving a holiday?

Thomas Jefferson is the only president who did not issue a Thanksgiving proclamation during his presidency. He served from 1801 to 1809.

Jefferson's decision was based on his strong belief in the separation of church and state. He believed that Thanksgiving was a religious holiday, and that the government should not be involved in promoting or endorsing any particular religion.

Jefferson's decision was controversial at the time, but it is now widely respected as a principled stance in favor of religious freedom.

Next Post Previous Post
No Comment
Add Comment
comment url